Garden Guru

THE CONTRARIAN

Folks see me at the Farmers Market, and ask questions as though I am an expert gardener. Actually, I know a bit about growing veggies, but every member of the Horticultural Society knows a lot more than I do about landscaping and flowers. Picture this.

Family Christmas gathering, elderly relative asks “So how is your gaillardia?”. I am thinking fast. Gaillardia, is that bad breath? Or a sexually transmitted disease? So I handle it brilliantly, saying, in my dumbest voice, “Gaillardia?” “Yes,” she says “remember that root I gave you last spring?” “Oh, of course” say I, smoothly, “It is wonderful. Bloomed all summer” while thinking “I hope that is the one with the orange flowers”. Must have been, no more questions.

But there is hope. I have spent a lot of time reading this winter, trying to learn more about soils. I will distill what I learned by giving you solutions to your soil problems, as follows.

Problem:   Soil too sandy, dry all the time

Solution A: Add compost

Solution B,C,D Too complicated, go to solution A

Problem: Soil too heavy, big clay lumps:

Solution A: Add compost

Solution B,C,D   Too complicated.

Problem: Soil too acid, low pH

Solution A: Add compost

Solution B,C,D too complicated, go to solution A

Problem: Soil too limey, pH too high

Solution A Add compost

Solution B,C,D Too complicated

Problem: Soil too poor, nothing grows

Solution A: Add compost

Solution B,C,D   too complicated

Any other problems: Add compost.

No need to thank me for this valuable insight into gardening success

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

